Seven candidates to contest Indi

Election Ballot Draw 01 wk17
OFF AND RUNNING: Indi electorate candidates (from left) Eric Kerr (Labor), Steven Martin (Liberal), Mark Byatt (Nationals), Dr Helen Haines (Independent) and Helen Robinson (Greens) in front of the board showing their ballot paper positions, following Wednesday’s draw in Wangaratta. United Australia Party candidate Shane Wheatland attended the draw but was absent for the photo, while Justice Party candidate Jason Whalley did not attend the ballot draw.

SEVEN candidates will contest the May 18 federal election in the seat of Indi.

While five members of the field had already indicated their intention to run, and been actively campaigning, a further two nominations were announced during the official declaration of candidates in Wangaratta last Wednesday.

Independent Helen Haines, Liberal Steven Martin, The Nationals’ Mark Byatt, Labor’s Eric Kerr, and United Australia Party’s Shane Wheatland had all publicised their intentions.

… to read the full story, click here to access the digital edition

  • Popular Stories